Thursday, 9 April 2009


The s/t CD by London's mighty ALABASTER SUNS will be available from tomorrow from the band (see dates below) and from the Iron Pig website.

ALABASTER SUNS is the new band rising from the ashes of the much celebrated CAPRICORNS (Rise Above records). The band features K A Williams on guitar and vocals and Nathan Perrier on drums with new blood DL on bass. After playing numerous shows, this is the bands first recording, with John Hannon at the controls (NO RECORDING studio).

The album opens at a furious pace with 'Iron Gang', brutal and heavy, it bears comparison with elements of VOIVOD, PRONG and similarly progressive brutal acts of the mid 80s, though with a Dischord edge, perhaps bringing to mind bands such as SWIZ and CIRCUS LUPUS. The band's complex time signatures, and atypical riffs create a true sound all their own though, as they seamlessly blend staggeringly heavy freight-train bludgeon with more mellow breakdowns. Indeed penultimate track 'Alabaster Suns' is a remarkably gentle piece, which makes very effective use of a perfectly selected guitar tone: being veterans of the hardcore scene, ALABASTER SUNS are perfectly clear about what they want to achieve and they know their equipment. 'The World Got Lighter' closes the proceedings with nearly eight minutes mixing mid-paced groove and ferocious rocking.

With their past pedigree and the sheer quality on offer with this debut album its certain that ALABASTER SUNS will get the attention they deserve.

10 Apr - Hare and Hounds, Birmingham (w/BARONESS)
11 Apr - The Bitter Suite,Preston (w/BOW & ARROW)
14 Apr - 229 Club, London (w/ GODS & QUEENS)
20 Apr - Old Blue Last, Londo (w/HOLY STATE)
8 May - Windmill, London (w/SAVIOURS)
16 May - The Croft, Bristol (w/TAINT, DEATH OF HER MONEY)

1 comment:

Anon said...

Come to Brooklyn!